Tuesday, April 15, 2014

Passion Week Bible Readings

This is a link to the plan I'm currently reading during Passion Week. 
From Crossway, The Final Days of Jesus. 

Are you reading your Bible?

The Apple of Your Eye

During the week of April 9th through April 16th, the following Scripture was read.

Leviticus chapters 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27.
John chapters 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16.
Above Scripture read from the New Living Translation Study Bible. Links provided by Bible Gateway.

From the NIV Hope in the Mourning Bible---1 Corinthians chapters 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16. This completes the 4th time to read 1 Corinthians. Link provided by Bible Gateway.

A few links of interest:

Do Bible Haters Now Equal Bible Lovers? American Bible Society Thinks So-Christianity Today

The Most Popular and Fastest Growing Bible Translation Isn't What You Think It Is-Christianity Today

It's Back, The Gospel of Jesus's Wife and the State of Modern Scholarship by Dr. R. Albert Mohler Jr.

Five Women From The Early Church You Should Know (Who Aren't Named Mary) from Jesus Loves You

What's So Good About Good Friday from Christianity.com by Justin Holcomb

Are you reading your Bible?

Friday, April 11, 2014

Bible Study Expo April 17, 2014

Join us for a free online Bible study! The 2014 Bible Study Expo will be April 17, 2014, from 1:00 to 4:00 pm CT. 

Twelve teaching leaders represent Bible Study Expo this year:
Lisa Bevere
Dr. Jackie Roese
Kathy Howard
Frances Drost
Jenifer Jernigan
Gail Dudley
Rhonda Stoppe
Sharon Lee Beavers
Jessie Seneca
Jennie Allen 
Sue Edwards
Dawn Yoder

Jennie Allen has a new Bible study which was published January 7, 2014. You maybe familiar with Jennie through the IF Gathering. Jennie's new study is, Restless: Because You Were Made for More.
For more information on this study: Restless. 

Jenifer Jernigan has a new Bible study which was published March 4, 2014. I've known Jenifer for a few years through blogging, and her online Bible studies. She's a sweet spirit, and a faithful girl, who has a passion for teaching God's Word. Jenifer's new study is Diving Deeper: Finding Deep Faith Beyond Shallow Religion. This study is apart of the Inscribed Collection.

Thursday, April 10, 2014

[Review] Undone: When Coming Apart Puts You Back Together by Laura Sumner Truax

Title: Undone: When Coming Apart Puts You Back Together
Author: Laura Sumner Truax
Publisher: InterVarsity Press July 8, 2013
Genre: Non-fiction, spiritual growth, suffering
Format: Paperback
Pages: 231
Rating: 5 Stars
Source: Free copy from InterVarsity Press in exchange for a review. 
This review was first featured on The Christian Manifesto. 

Link @ publisher for information on the book: Undone. 

Kindle price @ Amazon, $9.39

Every human reaches a deadlock in their life which feels like a brick wall. It is impenetrable and unscalable. This event is called a crisis. If we are unable to “figure it all out” on our own, then “we feel like a failure”.
Undone, is insightful and personal reflections from the life of Laura Sumner Truax. She reminds us to “take off” our pretense and be transparent; this first step must be accomplished in order to then surrender over to God's leadership and teaching.
Truax expounds on how we perceive our self, and how we see others. We often see “patterns in others immediately, but in ourselves it's a different story”. page 77.
Coming to a place where we want God to work in our life, to teach us to live for Him and for His glory, is the ultimate goal. Mistakes are not just mistakes which randomly happened, but are opportunities for God to work in our life.
When I first began reading Undone, I thought I was going to be undone, the author came across to me as complaining. But, then I took a step back so to speak, and asked God to reveal to me what I needed to see and learn from this book, it's a question for my heavenly Father who is always ready to work in my life.
Truax began by sharing the dissolve of her first marriage. It was through this hard experience which led her to take off her mask of “internal insecurities”, and get real to herself and to God.
When an author draws me into their story, even if the book is non-fiction, shedding off the bravado is refreshing. It leads me to relate, listen with attention, and ask myself what I need to learn.
Truax shared one of my favorite stories from the Bible, from the gospel of John chapter 4, the woman at the well. The Samaritan woman was drawing water from the well, but Jesus told her he had water which would quench her unlike any water she'd ever had, it was a water which would be a “fountain of water springing up into everlasting life”. The woman at the well didn't understand what Jesus was talking about and needed further explaining. Truax added, “she almost missed him. It's the irony of life, isn't it?” Page 80. I felt this is a stunning question: What have I missed by my distractions, judgments, perceptions, and discord?
Truax made a profound statement, “We've grown so accustomed to thinking we knew what the cross means that we aren't really amazed, astonished or even that curious about it anymore.” Page 175. We are nearing the Easter season, the cross and the resurrection of Jesus Christ is what saves us from our sins. But, it was with God's great and unfathomable love which held him to the cross, may I never loose sight of this, nor may it never become pallid.
Truax has written a book which is heavy on both application, and on reminding us of God's beautiful design of grace and love.