Skip to main content

Review-"When The Soul Mends"

"When The Soul Mends" by Cindy Woodsmall, WaterBrook Multnomah, Published 9-16-2008,
354 pages.

"When The Soul Mends" is book 3 in the "Sisters of the Quilt" series, it is also the conclusion.

Hannah is my heroine. I admire her courage and her fortitude, I admire her teachable heart and faithfulness. I am thankful that the author listened to the prompting of the Holy Spirit in creating Hannah, and thankful that the reader is able to see in Hannah's story that we are a make-up of life experiences, but as a Christian there is comfort and peace in that God is at work in all of the details of our lives.
In book 3 Hannah's career goal is completed. She seems to have her life in order and planned, but there are loose threads from the past that must be repaired. Hannah must journey back to her beginnings, not knowing what response she will receive from her family, friends, and the Old Order Amish community.
In each of the books I never felt a longing for the story of Hannah to be finished, I could not wait for the next page to be turned and for the continuation of her story.
There have been several books written on the Amish in the Christian fiction genre. I believe what sets apart Cindy Woodsmall's books is an unhurried look at the tension of young Amish people and the temptation from the world. Cindy also gives the reader a large pool of characters in her books, each with a wider story of their own trials.

"When The Soul Mends" is a New York Times Best-Seller.

Stay tuned for the review of "The Hope of Refuge".