Skip to main content

Review-A Lineage of Grace

A Lineage of Grace, Five stories of unlikely women who changed eternity
by Francine Rivers
Tyndale House, published 2009, 542 pages

This book was purchased by me for the purpose of reading/reviewing.

Lineage of Grace is actually five books that have been compiled into one book. The five books are the stories of five women from the lineage of Jesus.
The women and the title of each chapter are as follows:

Each of the stories were created perfectly in my mind by the descriptive writing of Francine. Their stories were not told with a slant to rectify them such as in the stories of Rahab and Bathsheba, nor were they written in such a way as to exalt them such as in the story of Mary the mother of Jesus. In their stories we see their humanity, their weaknesses, fears and anxieties, insecurities, patience, kindness, and their great faith and love.
I was most moved by the stories of Ruth and Bathsheba. Re-reading the story in the Bible of Ruth now gives me a new insight in to her deep character, above all her sacrificial love that she had for Naomi. In the story of Bathsheba I was given deeper insight into both her weaknesses and tarnished image, yet she was the mother of Solomon, and in the lineage of Jesus.
I loved this book, it was a pleasure and an enjoyment to read!

 Francine Rivers

Blissful Reading!