Skip to main content

Book Review: The Deliverer, Freedom Series #3 by Kathi Macias

The Deliverer is Book #3 in the Freedom Series. Book #1 Deliver Me from Evil, Book #2 Special Delivery.
By clicking on the above book titles it will then take you to my reviews of those books.

I was given a complimentary copy of this book from the author in exchange for posting the author’s interview and/or book review on my blog. This blog tour is managed by Christian Speakers Services (

Mara had been sold as a young girl into the sex-trade industry. She was born in Mexico, but had spent the past several years in the San Diego area. Mara is currently a waitress, hoping to begin college soon. She is working through the emotional and spiritual trauma she suffered as a result of ten years of captivity. She has a small group of people who pray for her and encourage her.

Jonathan and his sister Leah are in college. They are a source of encouragement for Mara.
Jonathan is a young man with a serious nature,he wants to be God's servant, he wants to place God's will for his life above all else. 

Sarah has had strong feelings for Jonathan for several years. She is Leah's best friend.

Lawan, had been in captivity in the sex-trade in Thailand. She's now adapting to dramatic changes in a new culture.

In each characters lives choices and changes have come about. Will they choose to follow Christ in their life? Will they by faith in Him follow, not knowing what the result will be? Will they release their doubts and fears and what they perceive is the best choice, and instead give it to Christ Jesus?  
I believe---The Deliverer was written for two reasons:
1. It gives the reader a chance to have closure after books one and two.
2. It is a teaching story on The Fruits of the Spirit.  
"But the Holy Spirit produces this kind of fruit in our lives: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. There is no law against these things! Those who belong to Christ Jesus have nailed the passions and desires of their sinful nature to his cross and crucified them there. Since we are living by the Spirit, let us follow the Spirit's leading in every part of our lives." Galatians 5:22-25 Everyday Matters Bible by Hendrickson Bibles 2012, New Living Translation.  

I love it when a story dives deep into characters psyches, giving me the ability to see, as though looking through a magnifying glass, a transformation. People that have been radically changed---born again---which is made possible only through the Holy Spirit. 

I have loved the Freedom Series. Although this book was not dramatic in respect to fearing for these characters lives, nor in reading tense situations. It gave me a better understanding about how far these characters had come, and what road (journey or direction) they've chosen to take.

The Freedom Series has educated the literary world about the sex-trade industry. It does not just happen in a foreign country that seems far removed from America. It happens in America as well. It teaches us to have more than just empathy, but the knowledge to know what we can do to help. 

Published by New Hope Publishers August 2012
320 pages
Fiction/Sex Trafficking/Freedom Series #3!/christianspkrs

Link @ Christian Book:
Paperback $9.99

Further Links:
Kathi Macias


Kathi Macias said…
Wow, thank you for the insightful review of The Deliverer and the entire series. It's obvious you "get it," and I so appreciate your helping and encouraging others to do the same. Blessings!
Thank you for participating in the CSS Virtual Book Tour for THE DELIVERER by KATHI MACIAS.

For information where FREE copies of this book will be given away, please visit: We are giving away a complete 3-book set of the Freedom Series, including the latest release, THE DELIVERER.

Also follow on Facebook at

STAY TUNED ... more books by Kathi Macias will be on tour soon. Visit:
Terry said…
Sounds like a good series. Will have to check it out.